Fort Mill Photography’s Owner and Lead Photographer Shirley Wedra wins 1st and 2nd place in the South Carolina Association of Wedding Photographers Contest.

Being a wedding photographer is a challenge for sure. It’s a challenge that many photographer friends of mine want nothing to do with because they can’t have enough time with the client, the lighting is challenging, it’s too high pressure to produce etc. etc. etc.

Personally I love the challenge of doing my absolute best to walk away with great images under adverse conditions. I love the fast paced environment, the different locations it takes me, working in all different types of lighting situations and capturing a moment that the client didn’t get to see from your perspective or your artistic viewpoint.

I don’t enter many competitions with my work but there is one that I enjoy being a part of. It’s a wonderful learning experience with other extremely talented photographers who know all the rules about photography and are not afraid to break them to create a great image. This organization is the South Carolina Association of Wedding Photographers.

I am very excited to announce that this year I walked away winning entries in 2 out of 7 categories. I won 1st place in Getting Ready and 2nd place in Bridal or Groom Portrait. Both of these images created on the wedding day in the midst of all the hustle and bustle, which is my favorite place to be.

http://www.scawpj.com/2013-Winners.html

Buttons and Lace

1st Place Getting Ready © Fort Mill Photography

2nd Place Bride or Groom Portrait

2nd Place Bride or Groom Portrait © Fort Mill Photography

Leave a Reply

